Leading Nigerian law firm, Templars has again clinched the coveted “Law Firm of the Year” award at the Law Digest Africa Awards which comes shortly after winning the same award at the ESQ Nigerian Legal Awards, 2017.

The firm also picked up awards in three other categories presented.

The Law Digest Africa Awards is a highly regarded annual event which recognizes and honors excellence in the African legal services market, by identifying and rewarding the contributions of individual lawyers, law firms and in-house teams, large and small equally. The awards are based on the opinions of peers and the in-depth research conducted.

The shortlist for this year’s awards included candidates from Nigeria, South Africa, Kenya and Mozambique. Also, the Judges for this year were selected legal professionals across Africa and the International community which include: Mickael Laurans, Head of International – Law Society of England and Wales, Noor Kapdi, Managing Partner, Dentons South Africa, Pieter Steyn, Director – Werksman & Chairman – LEX AFRICA, Chief Bayo Ojo, SAN, CON – Partner, Bayo Ojo & Co and a host of other reputed legal minds.

Templars were the biggest winners of the night as they scooped the awards for Property, Infrastructure & Construction Team 2017, Power, Energy & Natural Resources Team 2017 (won for the third consecutive year), Managing Partner of the Year 2017 – Oghogho Akpata (retaining the title from 2016) and the grand award, Law Firm of the Year 2017. The Templars team had clinched the grand award over other top law firms in Africa which were shortlisted.

This achievement by Templars was particularly unprecedented as no other law firm has achieved the same feat in the same year. Commenting on this, Partner, Olumide Akpata, said “We are very delighted to be recognized in such an outstanding manner. We thank our clients for inspiring us to push the boundaries of success as we could not have achieved this without them”.

This year had over 175 entries from more than 15 countries across Africa and Europe. The award was sponsored by Stephenson Harwood and had about 15 categories to reward excellence including a lifetime achievement award which went to Chief Bayo Ojo SAN CON FClArb for his overwhelming contribution to the legal space over the years.